Chipimo to join freelance-journalists, others to observe Kenyan polls

NAREP president Elias Chipimo has been selected to join other individuals from the Commonwealth of Nations to observe elections in Kenya.

The Commonwealth Observer Group to Kenya’s general elections scheduled for 4 March wil be led by Former Botswana President Festus Mogae.

Commonwealth Secretary-General Kamalesh Sharma constituted the Group at the invitation of Kenya’s Independent and Electoral Boundaries Commission.

The group comprises mayors, freelance journalists, government officials etc..

The full list of Commonwealth observers as published on the Commonwelath website if below:

HE Mr Festus Mogae Chair Former President Botswana

Ms Shana Kaiser Elections Expert, International IDEA Canada

Dr Shahabuddin Quraishi Former Chief Election Commissioner India

Mr Fabian Brown Development Specialist Jamaica

Mr Thomas Kwesi Quartey Lawyer/Former Diplomat Ghana

Justice Carl Singh Chancellor of the Judiciary Guyana

Mrs Nancy Tembo Commissioner, Electoral Commission Malawi

Ms Fathimath Ilham Mohamed Executive Director, Transparency Maldives Maldives

Ms Tahura Titi Gabi Freelance Journalist and Media Monitor Papua New Guinea

Hon Jacqueline Muhongayire Member of Parliament Rwanda

Ms Miatta French Commissioner, Electoral Commission Sierra Leone

Ms Raenette Taljaard Commissioner, Electoral Commission South Africa

Hon Dr Didas Massaburi Mayor of Dar es Salaam Tanzania

Mr Joshua Wamala Head, Election Management, Electoral Commission Uganda

Ms Kaye Oliver Former Diplomat United Kingdom

Ms Samira Sawlani Journalist United Kingdom

Mr Eliias Chipimo Politician Zambia

Share this post