Chongwe results officially announced

MMD’s Japhen Mwakalombe has scooped the Chongwe Parliamentary seat.

Mr Mwakalombe polled 14 thousand 3 hundred and 84 votes, followed by PF’s Sylvia Masebo who got 8 thousand 1 hundred and 43 votes.

UPND’s Clement Mapulanga came third with 2 thousand 3 hundred and 9 votes with David Chuulu of the FDD only managing 5 hundred and 42 votes.

Declaring the results, Thursday morning at Chongwe Civic Centre returning Officer Yusto Chisulo said Mr Mwakalombe has been duly elected as Chongwe Member of Parliament.

Mr Chisulo also said that 7 hundred and 3 ballot paper had been rejected as invalid.

The total number of votes cast, was 26 thousand and 81 votes out of the 52 thousand registered voters.


Share this post