Cry beloved country: Sata changes cabinet again within 48 hours

President Michael Sata has made a mini reshuffle and fine- tuned three government ministries barely a day after re-aligning deputy minsters

It is now difficult to keep track of which ministry is doing what as the Ministry of Local Government will now be Ministry of Local Government and Housing with Professor Nkandu Luo carrying on as Minister.

President Sata has also announced that the Ministry of Education will now be known as Ministry of Education, Science, Vocational Training and Early Education and will be Presided over by Dr John Phiri as Minister.

Additionally, the President has transferred Christopher Yaluma to the new ministry to be identified as Ministry of Mines, Energy and Water Development.

Meanwhile, Wilber Simusa will be the minister in-charge of Lands, Natural Resources and Environmental Protection.

President Sata has accordingly written to the Speaker of the National Assembly for the appropriate action to be taken following the minor adjustments.

Meanwhile, President Sata has transferred Dr Ngosa Simbyakula from the Ministry of Justice to the Ministry of Home Affairs as Deputy Minister with a special responsibility of spearheading the creation of district attorneys’ chambers countrywide.

President Sata says the move is meant to enhance and guarantee professionalism in the prosecution process by speeding up the dispensation of justice.

Dr Simbyakula replaces Obvious Mwaliteta who has been transferred to Southern Province as provincial Minister taking over from Miles Sampa who has been brought to the Ministry of Finance as Deputy Minister.

President Sata has also reassigned Finance Deputy Minister Alfreda Kansembe to the Ministry of Justice in the same capacity.

This is according to a statement released to ZNBC news by State House Special Assistant for Press and Public Relations, George Chellah.


Share this post