FAZ announce opening fixtures for 2016 MTN league

Zesco United will start their title defence for the 2016 MTN FAZ Super League at home to debutants Lumwana Radiants.
Last season’s runners-up Zanaco open their campaign away at promoted Kabwe Warriors.
However, Zanaco’s match against Kabwe Warriors is likely to be postponed to a later date as they are scheduled to play in the CAF Confederation Cup during the same weekend.
As with Zanaco, the match between Zesco United and Lumwana Radiants might not be played due to Caf club competition commitments by the former if they overcome Al Ghazala Wau of South Sudan in the preliminary round.
Power Dynamos who finished in third will be at home to Napsa Stars. The last time the two teams met Power Dynamos won 3 – 0 with Felix Sunzu scoring a brace and Jimmy Ndhlovu contributing a goal.
Sunzu has since left Power Dynamos while Ndhlovu has joined the club on a permanent basis from Nkana but is likely to miss the match due to injury.
Kobe Chipeta who scored the only goal in the reverse fixture has also left Power Dynamos to join Forest Rangers.
Green Buffaloes who finished the season in fourth position and as Barclays Cup champions begin the campaign away to Green Eagles, while Nkwazi play Nkana and Mufulira Wanderers travel to Forest Rangers.
Promoted side Mufulira Blackpool will welcome Lusaka Dynamos while Red Arrows will be at home to Nakambala Leopards.
Nchanga Rangers will get the ball rolling at newly-promoted Lusaka Tigers.
Week Two league matches have been scheduled for the weekend of 25th to 27th March.

Week One Fixtures scheduled for the weekend of 11th to 13th March 2016 are as follows:
15:00 Power Dynamos vs Napsa Stars – Arthur Davies Stadium
15:00 Kabwe Warriors vs Zanaco – Godfrey Chitalu Stadium
15:00 Zesco United vs Lumwana Radiants – Levy Mwanawasa Stadium
15:00 Green Eagles vs Green Buffaloes – Independent Stadium
15:00 Forest Rangers vs Mufulira Wanderers – Dola Hill Stadium
15:00 Mufulira Blackpool vs Lusaka Dynamos – John Kachofa Stadium
15:00 Lusaka Tigers vs Nchanga Rangers – Matero/Independence Stadium
15:00 Red Arrows vs Nakambala Leopards Nkoloma Stadium
15:00 Nkwazi vs Nkana – Edwin Imboela Stadium
Source: FAZ.com

Share this post