Lusaka MMD officials trek to PF

Almost the entire MMD Lusaka Province Executive Committee has resigned from the opposition party to join the ruling Patriotic Front-PF.

And some executive members at District level have also defected from the MMD to join the ruling party.

The team of twenty five leaders was led by MMD Provincial Secretary Samson Mkandawire at Nakatindi Hall grounds in Lusaka.

The defectors include Information Publicity Secretary Greenock Lupambo, Youth Chairman Cris Chalwe, Youth Treasurer Sara Phiri and Treasurer for Women Dorothy Brolund.

MMD Lusaka Central Constituency Chairman Chilekwa Munkonge has also joined the PF.

And Mr. Mkandawire says the provincial executive committee resigned because the MMD is headed for a total collapse.

And welcoming the defectors, PF Deputy Secretary General Bridget Atanga called for hard work from the defectors.

She says the PF party is embracing everyone who wants to work with the party ahead of the 2016 general elections.

Earlier, PF Chairman for Mobilisation Charles Banda urged the new members to feel free and join any committee of their choice.

Share this post