MMD expels three leaders

Three MMD councilors including a party member have been expelled from the ruling party for alleged gross misconduct.
The expelled councilors are Charles Malonde, Paison Katuba and Rodwell Nonde, who is also Kaputa District Council Chairman.
MMD district chairman David Makungu confirmed the expulsion of the quartet in an interview with ZANIS in Kasama today.
He named the other party cadre as a Mr. Kabisha.
Mr. Makungu advised the affected civic leaders to stop executing their duties since they were no longer representatives of the ruling party.
He warned that undisciplined MMD members would not be tolerated but instead flashed out in order to bring sanity to the party.
Mr. Makungu urged the party’s provincial executive committee (PEC) to uphold the decision of the District Executive Committee to expel the four party members for misconduct.
But when contacted for a comment, MMD provincial vice secretary Jairos Simunyola said PEC does not recognize the expulsion of the councillors and a party cadre from the ruling party in Kaputa District.
Mr. Simunyola said the decision of MMD District executive committee was null and void.
He explained that the Makungu committee had no powers to expel party members because this was the sole responsibility of the  National Executive Committee (NEC).
Mr. Simunyola advised party officials at all levels to desist from being over-zealous when handling party matters.
He urged the MMD in Kaputa District to immediately reinstate the expelled party members’ failure to which disciplinary action would be taken against the entire executive committee for abrogating party directives.
Meanwhile, the MMD in Northern Province has appointed Webster Nkole as acting provincial youth chairman replacing Danny Chisanga, who is on suspension for alleged gross indiscipline.
Mr. Simunyola said Nkole deserved to lead the youth wing of MMD because he was a dedicated and loyal party member.
He urged Nkole to work flat-out and recruit many youths to join the ruling party ahead of the 2011 general elections.


Share this post