MMD scraps off position of vice president, expels Mpombo and others

The MMD has expelled former ministers George Mpombo, Ngandu Magande, Mike Mulongoti and Jonas Shakafuswa.
And the MMD has  scrapped off the position of vice president.
President Rupiah Banda has gone through unopposed as MMD party president. All the people who wanted to challenge president Banda were expelled from the party.

And Aspiring candidate for the MMD National Youth chairman Kelvin Sampa has been disqualified for not being in good standing with the party.

MMD Convention Electoral Commission Chairperson Christopher Mundia announced the development at the convention Tuesday evening.
Mundia also announced that six National Executive Committee members have gone through unopposed.
These are Commerce Trade and Industry Chairperson – Felix Mutati, Finance and Economics – Situmbeko Musokotwane, Deputy National Secretary Chembe Nyangu and National Vice Chairperson Kabinga Pande.
Others are Party Chairman Michael Mabenga and National Youth Treasurer Evans Chibanda.
The Convention has also upheld the expulsions of former Members of parliament Ngandu Magande for Chilanga, George Mpombo for Kafulafuta and Jonas Shakafuswa for Katuba and former Works and Supply Minister Mike Mulongoti who was nominated by the president at the time of his tenure in parliament and cabinet minister.
MMD vice National Secretary Chembe Nyangu announced this when he presented the joint Chairman and National secretary report to the convention.
The delegates have also resolved that the National Executive Committee-NEC be given powers to expel members who have passed through a disciplinary process.
Voting for NEC positions takes place on Wednesday.

Share this post