MPs take oath of allegiance

Members of Parliament (MPs) have been sworn in by new Speaker of the National Assembly Patrick Matibini.

MPs took their oath of allegiance on Thursday afternoon in preparation for the opening of the next session of the National Assembly on  October 7.

Some of those who retained their seats and sworn in include Vice President Guy Scott, Former Vice President, who is also MMD Muchinga Member of Parliament (MP) George Kunda, United Party for National Development (UPND) Gwembe MP Brian Ntundu, Patritic Front (PF) Kanyama MP Gerry Chanda,  UPND Bweengwa MP Highvie Hamuduudu, and Chikankata MP Munji Habeenzu.

Those elected to office for the first time include PF Shiwangandu MP Stephen Kampyongo, Mongu Central MP Nathaniel Mubukwanu, and Matero MP Miles Sampa.

The house convenes on Friday  and this will see the presentation and debate of the much anticipated 2012 national budget.

Share this post