Msiska predicts tough clash with Algeria

Olympic coach Lucky Msiska has predicted a tough encounter against Algeria in the June 5 qualifier.

Msiska told that his technical staff was wary of the threat North African teams posed to Zambia.

The 1988 Seoul Olympic finalist said he was determined to ensure Zambia booked a place to the London 2012 Games.

He draws strength for Zambia’s chances to progress to the next round from the team’s previous meeting against Algeria.

Zambia knocked Algeria out of the 2004 Athens Games 4-3 on aggregate to earn a group stage place.

Msiska, who has named a 29-member team that goes into residential camp in Lusaka on Sunday, said he had a collection of good players for the job.

“It’s going to be tough. North African teams are tricky but we will work hard because we have a good team,” he said.

Msiska said he had proposed international friendlies but potential opponents had not given Zambia feedback.

He said he had also proposed a friendly between the Under-23 national team and the Copperbelt select side to help shape for the match against Algeria.

Msiska said although he had an idea of the team for the Algeria assignment, he wanted to monitor more players that had not been given chance.

Full Team


Allan Chibwe (Zanaco), Lenone Muma (Nkana) and Kenny Mumba (Red Arrows).


Jimmy Chisenga (Red Arrows), Christopher Munthali (Power Dynamos), Cosmas Kabaza (Zanaco), Lawrence Chungu (Power Dynamos), Steven Kabamba (Zesco United), Derrick Mwansa (Nkwazi), William Daka (Chipata Police), Aullen Pepa (Luanshya Hotspurs), Gift Sakuwaha (Nchanga Rangers) and Lightone Kasolota (Forest Rangers).


Richard Kasonde (Kabwe Warriors), Henry Banda (Zanaco), Julio Situmbeko (Konkola Mining) John Chingandu (Zesco United), Samson Chilupe (Konkola Blades), Simon Silwimba (Zanaco), Bruce Musakanya (Red Arrows), Rodrick Kabwe (Kabwe Warriors).


Alex Ngonga (Power Dynamos), Mwila Mulenga (K-Stars), Felix Nyaende (Power Dynamos), Meenda Milambo (Monze Swallows), Lewis Macha (Nchanga Rangers), Fumbani Muwowo (Mufulira Wanderers), Osward Munthali (Lusaka Tigers) and Chakwa Lungu (Zesco United).

Share this post