Race for Luena, Chifubu begins

The Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ) has set August 5 as the date for parliamentary by-elections for Luena and Chifubu constituencies and local government elections in six wards in various districts, ECZ public relations manager Cris Akufuna has said.
The by-elections in Luena Constituency in Western Province and Chifubu Constituency on the Copperbelt Province respectively follows the resignation of area member of Parliament Charles Milupi while the Chifubu polls are as a result of the death of Patriotic front (PF) ember of Parlaiment Benson Bwalya.

In a statement in Lusaka yesterday, Mr Akufuna said the elections in six wards were as a result of resignations, convictions or deaths of incumbent councillors.

He named the six wards as Myulu in Mansa, Ilambo in Luwingu, Mailo in Serenje, Chimwemwe in Kitwe, Mpima in Kabwe and Kariba in Siavonga.

Share this post