Site icon Zambian Watchdog

Regional presidents coming to Zambia

Uganda's Museveni and Kagame of Rwanda are both coming

Uganda's Museveni and Kagame of Rwanda are both coming

Zambia will host the Great Lakes Region Summit of Heads of State and Government next week, the Watchdog has been informed.

According to information received the summit will run from 7th to  11th August, 2009.

Presidents expected in the country are from  Angola, Burundi, Central African Republic, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Kenya, Rwanda, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda. These countries plus the host Zambia make the core group of the Great lakes region .

The eight co-opted countries are also expected to attend and these are Botswana, Egypt, Ethiopia, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Somalia and Zimbabwe.

The summits have been taking place since 2004 when a  pact was signed in Tanzania. The pact was based on the Declaration on Peace, Security, Democracy and Development in the Great Lakes region, which was signed by the 11 heads of State and government.

The pact was designed to bring peace, stability and prosperity to countries long troubled by civil wars and conflicts with each other.

The Summits are co-sponsored by the UN and African Union

The International Conferences on the Great Lakes region is a process that resulted from the decade-long crises in the region, which was considered a threat to international stability.

Back to Home page