Sata swears in 2 more MMD MPs as deputy ministers

President Michael Sata  today (Tuesday) morning swore-in two MMD MPs to serve as deputy ministers in his regime and vowed to appopint another MP from the MMD.

President Sata swore in MMD Mkaika MP David Phiri, as Deputy Minister of Tourism and Art while  MMD Solwezi East MP Richard  Taima was sworn in as Deputy Minister of Commerce, Trade and Industry.

Sata said the current constitution of Zambia has provisions which allow electorates to choose their representatives to Parliament.

He also added that the existing Constitution gives powers for the Head of State to appoint MPs to government positions regardless of their political affiliation.

Sata also swore in Rose Mulemba as Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Defence and Security while Stanford Musichili has been appointed as Provincial Permanent Secretary for the Copperbelt province.

Meanwhile, President Sata has advised the two deputy Ministers not to be intimidated by those resigning from their positions in government citing undue pressure from their party.

He also urged the newly appointed ministers to work hard not only for the development of their constituencies but also for the development of the country.

Sata further disclosed that he is going to look around especially in Eastern Province and appoint another deputy minister to fill the vacant position which has been created following the resignation of Isaac Banda yesterday.

Banda relinquished his position as deputy minister of Mines, Energy and Water Development citing undue pressure from his party the MMD which sponsored him to contest the Lumezi parliamentary seat in last year’s elections.

President Sata reiterated that as a Head of State, he is going to continue appointing MPs inside Parliament to various Government positions as stipulated in the current constitution regardless of their political affiliations.

Share this post