Women to battle for Nalolo constituency

Women to battle for Nalolo constituency

Inonge Wina, among the women vying for Nalolo

Four women have successfully applied to contest the Nalolo constituency seat in western province.

This is so far the only constituency with more women than men contesting for the parliamentary seat.

Only Charles Milupi’s ADD is fielding a man Lishibani Mulozi.  Mutanga Moola is contesting as an independent while Catherine Akayombo will try on the MMD ticket. The PF will feature their national chairperson  Inonge Wina while UPND has Beatrice Kakanga.

In Solwezi west constituency, seven candidates filed in their nominations before Returning Officer Fredrick Munkinyi starting with Sawanda Geoffrey an independent.

Humphrey Mwanza filed in as an MMD candidate and another independent candidate Nathan Bukonke followed.

Others are Logan Shemena for the NMP, Rhodiness Shatewa for the PF, Marjory Dauchi for the UPND and an independent candidate Felix Mwenze.

In Kitwe, six aspiring candidates successfully filed in their nominations for the kwacha constituency seat.

The six are MMD’s Joe Malanji, PF’s Bornface Mutale and Alliance for Democracy and Development Alfred Siyeta, Kelly Jibinga of the UPND.

Two independent candidates Victor Chami and Felix Ntengwe also successfully filled in their nominations.

In Lusaka’s Munali, eleven candidates successfully filed in their nomination papers.

These are Majory Mwape of the MMD, Andrew Masiye of the National Movement for Progress Party, Stephen Nawa of the UPND and Dr Canicious Banda who is contesting the seat as an independent candidate.

Others are Nkandu Luo of the Patriotic Front, Lewis Kaluba of UNIP, Edmond Lifwekelo of FDD, Robert Mwanza of the Citizens Democratic Party-CDP, John Phiri of the National Restoration Party- NAREP, Benson Phiri of the Alliance for Democracy and Development-ADD.

Fresher Siwale is standing as an independent candidate.

Monze central will be contested by UPND’s Jack Mwiimbu, Victor Mukonka of MMD and Gevier Nsanzya from PF. Collins Mwanabaleya will run on the UNIP ticket.
Michael Couvaras, Mambo Musute, Shadreck Bulanda, Osman Muzumbwe, and Col. Lawrence Hamaundu will contest as independent candidates.

In Mazabuka central constituency, the UPND hopes to retain the seat with incumbent Garry Nkombo, while the PF has Lucy Mwiinde.

The MMD has floated Maxwell Mwiinga while former Mazabuka mayor Shadreck Mwiinga has resigned from the UPND to contest as an independent candidate.

UNIP is floating a Chanda.

Share this post