Zanaco names 27 players for Caf Confederation Cup

Zambia’s flag bearers in the 2016 Caf Confederation Cup, Zanaco have released a list of 27 players registered with the Confederation of African Football (CAF) for the upcoming campaign.
The list contains names of new arrivals Aaron Katebe, Logic Ching’andu, Saith Sakala, Gift Sakuwaha, Richard Kasonde, Derrick Mwansa and Fashion Sakala.
Striker Saith Sakala arrives from Napsa Stars while his namesake Fashion Sakala joined from Nchanga Rangers.
Former Zesco United defender Gift Sakuwaha joins the bankers along with Logic Ching’andu from Forest Rangers. Others are Derrick Mwansa and Richard Kasonde who have been signed from Nkwazi and Nkana respectively.
Former FC Platinum defender Aaron Katebe who recently left Moroccan side Maghreb Atlantic Tetuoan has also been listed.
The omission from the list of Henry Banda, Mathews Macha, Emmanuel Phiri, Nawa Nawa, Dominic Yobe and Nigerian Utibe Archibong is perhaps confirmation of reports that they are all on their way out of Sunset Stadium.
There is also no mention of midfielder Maunga Kabuku who spent last season on loan at Napsa Stars.
Towering central defender Andrew Kwiliko has also been left out of the 27-man squad.
The goalkeeping department has remained intact with Racha Kola, Toaster Nsabata and Mangani Banda, all three who were part of last season’s squad, being listed.
Zanaco have been given a bye to the first round and will face the winner of the preliminary round tie between Harare City of Zimbabwe and AS Adema of Madagascar.
Zanaco will play the first leg away during the weekend of 11th to 13th March. The second leg is scheduled for the weekend of 18th to 20th March.
The squad list complete with squad numbers:
Goalkeepers: 1.Racha Kola 18.Mangani Banda 16.Toaster Nsabata
Defenders: 3. Ziyo Tembo 5.Aaron Katebe 6.Peter Jacob Banda 29.Mwelwa Sakala 27.Fackson Kapumbu 19.Gift Sakuwaha 8.Lee Ngoma 24.Derrick Mwansa 25.George Chilufya 27.Salulani Phiri
Midfielders: 21. Boyd Musonda 15.Logic Chingandu 13.Rodrick Kabwe 20.Isaac Chansa 12.Ernest Mbewe 22.Augustine Mulenga 10.Potipher Zulu 17.Aubrey Funga 14.Richard Kasonde 11.Charles Zulu
Forwards: 30.Fashion Sakala 9.Moses Phiri 23.Davy Daka 7.Saith Sakala

Share this post