Zesco United retains 2015 league title

Zesco United were confirmed as 2015 MTN FAZ Super League champions on Wednesday retaining the title they won last season following a 1 – 1 draw with city rivals Forest Rangers in a week 28 fixture played at Dola Hill Stadium.

Zesco United were reduced to ten men on 40 minutes when Simon Silwimba was sent off for a second bookable offence.

Winston Kalengo put the visitors ahead in the 3rd minute but Forest Rangers got back on level terms when Emmanuel Mayuka headed the ball into his own net on 64 minutes.

The draw meant that Zesco United had amassed an insurmountable 64 points as second placed Zanaco with 57 points can only get to 63 points if they won their remaining two games.

Zesco United will officially be presented with the trophy on the final weekend of the season when they play Lusaka Dynamos on November 7 in Lusaka.

George Lwandamina’s men will lift the Super League trophy for the fifth time having previously won the league in 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2014.

The Ndola based outfit have been dominant this season having registered 19 wins, 7 draws and two losses in 28 matches.

Forest Rangers on the other hand moved to 34 points meaning that they have survived relegation.

Zesco United’s two remaining fixtures will be against Zanaco (H) and Lusaka Dynamos (A) while Forest Rangers will play Green Eagles (A) and Power Dynamos (H).





Share this post